Jump to Navigation

Historic preservation consultants

Preservation consultants are generally hired to help with documentation projects such as historic resource surveys, drafting of design guidelines, and nomination of properties and districts to the National Register of Historic Places. Some preservation consultants are also hired to advise property owners on appropriate rehabilitation treatments or to complete applications for funding programs such as tax incentives and grants.

This list, compiled by the Historical Society, is provided as a service to individuals, organizations, and communities needing the assistance of a preservation consultant.  The State Historic Preservation Office does not attest to personal and corporate qualifications of these or any other consultants/contractors, whose level of experience and costs may vary.  Contracting individuals, organizations, or communities are encouraged to ask any consultant/contractor for references and recent work samples. 

For a list of contractors and craftspeople who have specific skills related to the preservation and rehabilitation of historic properties, please click here.

Historic preservation projects are not limited to the sources on this list, nor are there any preferences for any one consultant/contractor.  If you have any further questions, please contact the State Historic Preservation Office at 785-272-8681 ext. 240.

Anderson, Barbara
Preservation Consultant
142 N. Dartmouth Drive
Manhattan, KS 66503
Phone: (785) 776-0246

Apex Companies, LLC
155 Tri-County Parkway, Suite 250
Cincinnati, OH 45246
Phone: (513) 771-3617
Fax: (513) 771-3723

Breiseth, Elizabeth
AECOM
525 Vine Street, Suite 1800
Cincinnati, OH 45202
Phone:(312) 577-7434 
Cell: (312) 848-0466 
elizabeth.breiseth@aecom.com
www.aecom.com

Deiber, Camilla
The Louis Berger Group, Inc.
1600 Baltimore Avenue, Suite 100
Kansas City, Missouri, 64108
Phone: (816) 559-3815
Cell: (319) 551-3183
Fax: (816) 561-1666
E-mail:  cdeiber@louisberger.com

Ford, Susan Jezak
Citysearch Preservation
3628 Holmes Street
Kansas City, MO 64109
Phone: (816) 531-2489
Fax: (763) 431-2489
citysusan@gmail.com
www.susanjezakford.com

Front Range Research Associates
Thomas Simmons or R. Laurie Simmons
3635 W. 46th Avenue
Denver, CO 80211
Phone: (303) 477-7597
Fax: (303) 433-4609
frraden@msn.com
www.frhistory.com

Graves, Paula E.
PraxisEnPlace Inc.
P.O. Box 8645
Prairie Village, KS 66208
816-590-5235
paula@backattheranchwithpaula.com
www.backattheranchwithpaula.com

Hagen, Delia Lee, Ph.D.
Senior Project Manager , Historian
WGM Group
1111 E. Broadway
Missoula, MT 59802
Phone: (406) 728-4611 ext. 113
Fax: (406) 728-2476
dhagen@wgmgroup.com
www.wgmgroup.com

Hernly Associates, Inc.
Stan Hernly
920 Massachusetts, Ste #2
Lawrence, KS 66044
785-749-5806

Keenoy, Ruth
5229 Oleatha Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63139
Phone: (314) 637-6441
ruthkennoy@yahoo.com

MacRostie Historic Advisors LLC
Midwest Office
53 West Jackson Blvd. Suite 1323
Chicago, IL 60604
Phone: (312) 878-1246
ajohnson@mac-ha.com

www.macrostiehistoric.com

 

Millstein, Cydney E.
Architectural & Historical Research, LLC
1537 Belleview Avenue
Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone: (816) 472-4154
cydney@ahr-kc.com
www.ahr-kc.com

Nimz, Dale
P.O. Box 1046
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone: (785) 856-1299
dnimz@sunflower.com

Rosin, Elizabeth
Rosin Preservation, LLC
1712 Holmes
Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone: (816) 472-4950
Fax: (816) 472-4981
elizabeth@rosinpreservation.com
www.rosinpreservation.com 

Sheals, Deb
Historic Preservation Consultant
29 South Ninth Street, Suite 210
Columbia, MO 65201
Phone: (573) 874-3779
debsheals@gmail.com

Spencer, Brenda
Spencer Preservation
10150 Onaga Road
Wamego KS 66547
Phone: (785) 456-9857
brenda@spencerpreservation.com
www.spencerpreservation.com

STRATA Architecture + Preservation
(formerly Susan Richards Johnson & Assoc.)
1701 Oak St.
Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone: (816) 474-0900
susan@strata-arch.com
www.strata-arch.com 

Thomason, Phil
Thomason and Associates
P.O. Box 121225
Nashville, TN 37212
Phone: (615) 385-4960
info@thomasonandassociates.com
www.thomasonandassociates.com

Three Gables Preservation
Deon Wolfenbarger
320 Pine Glade Road
Nederland, CO 80466
Phone: (303) 258-3136
deon@threegables.net
www.threegables.net

J. Trnka Consulting
Architectural History, History, Section 106, NEPA and Section 4(f) services
Joe Trnka, CEP, Principle Investigator
508 20th Street North
Fargo, ND 58102
Phone:  701-353-2019
joe@jtrnka.com
www.jtrnka.com

Vogel, Robert C.
Senior Historian/Managing Partner
Pathfinder CRM, LLC - Minnesota Office
168 W. Main Street
P.O. Box 503
Spring Grove, MN 55974-0503
Phone: (507) 498-3810
Toll-Free: 800-206-8704
rcvogel@springgrove.coop
www.pathfindercrm.com