Jump to Navigation

Records from Franklin County

Creator: Franklin County (Kan.)

Date: 1859 - 1993

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216919

Abstract: This collection contains both paper and microfilmed records of Franklin County, Kansas. The records date between 1859 and 1993. They were created by the District Court, Probate Court, register of deeds, county clerk, superintendent of public instruction, Greenwood Township clerk, and the Ottawa School Board clerk. The paper records include vital statistics from the county clerk, dated 1892-1907, and marriage applications for licenses from the District Court, dated 1983.

The majority of the records are on microfilm. Records from the District Court document major civil cases, naturalizations, divorces, monetary claims within a particular boundary (usually one or more counties), and similar matters. Records include civil appearance dockets and indexes, 1859-1919; marriage records and indexes, 1858-1918; and naturalization records, 1870-1928. The Probate Court held jurisdiction over marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent & dependent children, and similar matters within the county. Records include case files, 1856-1917; probate packets, no date; and will records, 1863-1921.

Records from the register of deeds document land ownership throughout Franklin County. Included are deed records, 1857-1904; index to deeds, Ottawa city, 1865-1904; cemetery deed records, 1887-1944; land district record book, 1857-1859; and power of attorney, 1873-1905. Records from the superintendent of public instruction include school census records, 1894-1922. Records from the Greenwood Township Clerk include fire records, 1918-1977; Fireman's Relief Association journals, 1895-1943; fire department secretary journals, 1877-1937; vital statistics, 1892-1907; a Hope Cemetery interment register, 1865-1913; and public library minute books, 1878-1945. Records from the Ottawa School Board Clerk include minute books, 1864-1993.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm + circa .75 cubic feet.

Title (Main title): Records from Franklin County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Franklin County was established on August 25, 1855. It was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790), the American statesman and inventor. The county is one of the original 33 Kansas Territory counties established by the legislature. The area was included in a treaty ceding land to the Osage Nation in 1808, and ceded back to the federal government in 1825. After 1825 and prior to 1867, treaties with various Indian nations set off parts of what was later to become Franklin County for their use. Ottawa is both the county seat and largest city. Townships include Appanoose, Centropolis, Cutler, Franklin, Greenwood, Harrison, Hayes, Homewood, Lincoln, Ohio, Ottawa, Peoria, Pomona, Pottawatomie, Richmond, and Williamsburg.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties - Franklin County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/geog/geog_counties/view/county:FR (accessed 22 December 2010.)]

Portions of Collection Separately Described:


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Franklin County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Franklin County (Kan.) -- History
    Franklin County (Kan.) -- Statistics, Vital
    Civil law -- Kansas -- Franklin County
    Criminal law -- Kansas -- Franklin County
    Fire departments -- Kansas -- Franklin County
    Land tenure -- Kansas -- Franklin County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Franklin County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Franklin County
    Probate law and practice -- Kansas -- Franklin County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Franklin County.