Jump to Navigation

Records from Linn County

Creator: Linn County (Kan.)

Date: 1856 - 1985

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 216955

Abstract: This collection contains microfilmed records from Linn County, Kansas. The records were created by the district court, probate court, register of deeds, county treasurer, superintendent of public instruction, and county clerk. The district court handled civil and criminal cases, naturalization of immigrants wishing to become United States citizens, divorces, monetary claims within a particular boundary (usually one or more counties), and similar matters. Records include civil appearance dockets, 1863-1919; court journals, 1863-1919; marriage records, 1855-1925; and naturalization records, 1869-1939. The probate court had jurisdiction over marriages, town incorporations, estates, wills, adoptions, insanities, delinquent and dependent children, and similar matters. Records include will records, 1866-1921; appearance dockets, 1874-1923; probate journals, 1856-1919; general index, 1891-1919; and record of affidavits of death, 1887-1925.

Records from the register of deeds document land tenure and transactions throughout the county. These include deed records, 1861-1899; index to deeds, 1857-1906; military records, 1915-1950; and cemetery index, 1870-1985. County treasurer records include tax rolls, 1859-1880; superintendent records include school censuses by district, 1876-1923; and county clerk records consist of vital statistics, 1885-1925. Please see the paper finding aids for detailed information on microfilmed local government records.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm + 4 cubic feet.

Title (Main title): Records from Linn County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Linn County was established on February 26, 1867. It was named in honor of Lewis F. Linn (1796-1843), a doctor and U.S. senator from Missouri. Mound City is the county seat. Townships include Blue Mound, Centerville, Liberty, Lincoln, Mound City, Paris, Potosi, Scott, Sheridan, Stanton, and Valley.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties - Linn County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=LN (accessed June 23, 2009.)]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Linn County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Linn County (Kan.) -- History
    Linn County (Kan.) -- Statistics, Vital
    Court records -- Kansas -- Linn County
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Linn County
    Land tenure -- Kansas -- Linn County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Linn County
    Naturalization records -- Kansas -- Linn County
    Probate records -- Kansas -- Linn County
    School census -- Kansas -- Linn County
    Wills -- Kansas -- Linn County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Linn County.