Jump to Navigation

Records from Woodson County

Creator: Woodson County (Kan.)

Date: 1858 - 1962

Level of Description: Coll./Record Group

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Unavailable

Unit ID: 217116

Abstract: The State Archives holds records from Woodson County's Probate Court and Register of Deeds. These include marriage records and records related to administration of decedents' estates, such as copies of wills, from the probate court and property deeds, including for cemeteries, from the Register of Deeds. These records are on microfilm.

Space Required/Quantity: Microfilm ; 35mm + volumes.

Title (Main title): Records from Woodson County

Administrative History

Administrative History: Woodson County in southeastern Kansas was established in 1855. There are two possibilities for whom the county was named. It was probably for Daniel Woodson, who served as secretary of Kansas Territory, 1854-1857, including four stints as acting governor. Some other sources suggest it was named for Silas Woodson, a lawyer and politician in St. Joseph, Missouri, who served as governor of that state in the 1870s.

The county seat changed multiple times during the first twenty years of the county's history. Neosho Falls was the original county seat (1858-1873). Kalida was the seat from 1873 to 1874, when it moved to Defiance. Yates Center became the seat after the election of 12 September 1876, and it continues to be the county seat.

Townships in Woodson County include Center, Liberty, Neosho Falls, North, Perry, and Toronto. Belmont, Eminence, Everett, and Owl Creek Townships are now defunct.

[Kansas State Historical Society. "Kansas Counties -- Woodson County, Kansas." http://www.kshs.org/genealogists/places/counties.php?county=WO (accessed 6 July 2009).]


No Locators Identified

Index Terms


    Woodson County (Kan.) -- Genealogy
    Woodson County (Kan.) -- History
    Commissioners of deeds -- Kansas -- Woodson County -- Records and correspondence
    Deeds -- Kansas -- Woodson County
    Marriage records -- Kansas -- Woodson County
    Probate courts -- Kansas -- Woodson County -- Records and correspondence
    Wills -- Kansas -- Woodson County

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Local Government Agencies. Woodson County.