Jump to Navigation

Kansas Counties

Shirley County, Kansas [defunct]

Date Established: February 27, 1860
Date Organized: September 06, 1866
Date Defunct: May 27, 1867
Location: Kansas map showing location of Shirley County
Boundaries: Composed of townships 5, 6, 7, 8 and south in ranges 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5 west of the 6th principal meridian
County Seat: Elk Creek
Origin of Name: The county was most likely named for William Shirley, governor of Massachusetts Colony from 1741 to 1756. Andreas's History of Kansas, however, asserts it was as a joke named for Jane Shirley, a lady of questionable character in the Leavenworth area. By request of the first representative, J.B. Rupe, the name was changed in 1867 to Cloud County.
History: Shirley County was attached to Marshall County for judicial purposes prior to its organization.
Population: No Data Available.
Other Resources: Post offices in Shirley County
Look for other counties: