Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Chautauqua

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 59 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Belknap  Chautauqua  1877-12-10  1878-10-29   
Belknap  Chautauqua  1872-08-28  1878-11-23  Established in Howard County.  
Boston  Chautauqua  1871-08-28  1879-09-01  Moved to Moline. Established in Howard County.  
Bradley  Chautauqua  1891-02-10  1894-07-31   
Brownsville  Chautauqua  1883-05-23  1903-04-30   
Cascade  Chautauqua  1882-06-26  1886-12-04   
Cedar Vale  Chautauqua  1870-05-02  Open in 1961  Established in Howard County.  
Center  Chautauqua  1897-08-21  1907-02-28   
Center  Chautauqua  1871-12-01  1894-10-31  Also spelled Centre. Established in Howard County.  
Chautauqua  Chautauqua  1881-10-03  Open in 1961   
Cloverdale  Chautauqua  1871-01-24  1905-04-15  Established in Howard County.  
Colfax  Chautauqua  1873-12-24  1906-11-15   
Colfax  Chautauqua  1872-08-05  1873-02-24  Established in Howard County.  
Elgin  Chautauqua  1887-08-12  1976-07-30   
Elgin  Chautauqua  1871-02-27  1887-07-21  Name change to New Elgin. Established in Howard County.  
Farmersburg  Chautauqua  1896-03-24  1896-05-15  [Order of change rescinded]  
Farmersburg  Chautauqua  1897-12-02  1906-01-15   
Farmersburg  Chautauqua  1872-04-25  1896-02-15  Also spelled Farmerburgh. Established in Howard County.  
Fulda  Chautauqua  1872-08-05  1883-04-02  Name change to Wauneta. Established in Howard County.  
Golden Gate  Chautauqua  1872-03-20  1876-07-03  Established in Howard County.  
Grafton  Chautauqua  1888-01-18  1906-10-31   
Grafton  Chautauqua  1871-04-05  1887-10-01  Established in Howard County.  
Hale  Chautauqua  1882-05-18  1907-06-29   
Hart's Mill  Chautauqua  1872-06-03  1887-04-06  Moved to Hewins. Established in Howard County.  
Hewins  Chautauqua  1887-04-06  1966-04-08  Moved from Hart's Mill.  
Jay Hawk  Chautauqua  1871-04-05  1871-09-01  Name change to Matanzas. Established in Howard County.  
Jonesburg  Chautauqua  1892-06-08  1903-08-31  Name change from Jonesburgh.  
Jonesburgh  Chautauqua  1877-11-21  1892-06-08  Name change to Jonesburg.  
Leeds  Chautauqua  1883-08-06  1927-01-31  Name change from Squib.  
Lisbon  Chautauqua  1872-04-29  1880-09-15  Established in Howard County.  
Lone Elm  Chautauqua  1871-08-01  1871-12-07  Established in Howard County.  
Lowe  Chautauqua  1872-01-05  1875-09-16   
Lowe  Chautauqua  1875-12-13  1939-06-30   
Lowe  Chautauqua  1871-08-01  1871-12-07  Established in Howard County.  
Matanzas  Chautauqua  1871-09-01  1887-05-18  Name change from Jay Hawk. Moved to Newport. Established in Howard County.  
Metz  Chautauqua  1874-08-12  1888-05-11  Established in Howard County.  
Minersview  Chautauqua  1879-06-13  1880-07-06   
Monett  Chautauqua  1887-12-09  1918-03-15  Moved from Mount Vernon.  
Moore  Chautauqua  1901-02-23  1904-04-30   
Mount Vernon  Chautauqua  1874-03-10  1879-08-25   
Mount Vernon  Chautauqua  1882-10-10  1887-12-09  Moved to Monett.  
Mount Vernon  Chautauqua  1872-09-18  1874-01-21  Established in Howard County.  
New Elgin  Chautauqua  1887-07-21  1888-12-20  Name change from Elgin.  
Newport  Chautauqua  1887-05-18  1890-04-21  Moved from Matanzas. Name change to Niotaze.  
Niotaze  Chautauqua  1890-04-21  Open in 1961  Name change from Newport.  
Ozro  Chautauqua  1888-12-15  1892-03-31   
Ozro Falls  Chautauqua  1870-12-08  1872-09-16  Established in Howard County.  
Peru  Chautauqua  1870-07-27  Open in 1961  Established in Howard County.  
Rogers  Chautauqua  1887-06-04  1905-03-31   
Ross City  Chautauqua  1873-02-07  1875-03-10  Moved from Sedan. Established in Howard County.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page