Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Ford

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 57 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Bellefont  Ford  1878-04-30  1896-08-31   
Bellefont  Ford  1904-06-11  1957-06-28   
Belle Meade  Meade  1879-08-28  1888-02-20  Was also in Ford County for a time.  
Bloom  Ford  1885-12-23  1891-04-30   
Bloom  Ford  1908-08-17  1992-03-21   
Bloom  Ford  1892-08-20  1895-06-20  [Never in operation]  
Bucklin  Ford  1887-08-05  Open in 1961  Moved from Corbitt.  
Carthage  Meade  1885-01-13  1887-04-26  Established in Ford County.  
Cimarron  Gray  1878-03-28  Open in 1961  Established in Foote County. Was also in Ford County for a time.  
Clark  Clark  1884-07-14  1885-06-26  Name change from Klaine. Moved to Ashland. Established in Ford County.  
Colcord  Ford  1887-04-14  1887-04-29  Name change to Newkirk.  
Corbitt  Ford  1885-03-09  1887-08-05  Moved to Bucklin. Was also in Edwards County for a time.  
Crooked Creek  Ford  1879-01-23  1886-03-25   
Deep Hole  Clark  1881-05-18  1887-04-19  Was also in Ford County for a time.  
Dodge City  Ford  1872-09-23  Open in 1961  Name change from Fort Dodge.  
Englewood  Clark  1885-02-04  Open in 1961  Established in Ford County.  
Eugene  Ford  1886-03-20  1887-04-23   
Fonda  Ford  1885-07-22  1890-01-31   
Ford  Ford  1885-02-02  Open in 1961   
Fort Atkinson  Ford  1851-11-11  1853-08-22  [The first Fort Atkinson was situated on the Santa Fe Trail about six miles west of present-day Dodge City. In 1853, the troops stationed there were transferred to Walnut Creek (near present-day Great Bend and the post office changed names. The original name was resumed in 1855.] Moved to Walnut Creek. Was also in Washington County for a time.  
Fort Dodge  Ford  1876-10-13  1882-11-01   
Fort Dodge  Ford  1893-07-24  1996-11-23   
Fort Dodge  Ford  1872-04-29  1872-09-23  Name change to Dodge City.  
Fort Dodge  Ford  1869-08-19  1870-08-08   
Fort Dodge  Ford  1865-10-24  1868-07-31  Established in Marion County.  
Fowler  Meade  1885-01-13  Open in 1961  Moved from Gilbert. Established in Ford County.  
Gilbert  Meade  1883-01-16  1885-01-13  Moved to Fowler. Established in Clark County. Was also in Ford County for a time.  
Hazelwood  Ford  1878-06-13  1879-07-24   
Hess  Gray  1885-01-16  1890-09-30  Established in Ford County.  
Howell  Ford  1895-11-26  1897-04-30   
Howell  Ford  1909-08-10  1916-03-06   
Kingsdown  Ford  1888-01-11  1891-12-31  Moved from Newkirk.  
Kingsdown  Ford  1892-02-19  1893-11-30   
Kingsdown  Ford  1904-04-29  1998-01-03   
Klaine  Clark  1883-03-09  1894-07-14  Name change to Clark. Established in Ford County.  
Lasker  Clark  1886-01-06  1887-10-27  Established in Ford County.  
Lonelake  Gray  1885-08-31  1887-11-14  Moved to Ensign. Established in Ford County.  
Manila  Ford  1898-12-15  1899-02-09  [Order of change rescinded]  
Morrison  Ford  1886-06-02  1888-10-31   
Newkirk  Ford  1887-04-29  1888-01-11  Name change from Colcord. Moved to Kingsdown.  
Noland  Ford  1887-11-11  1893-01-16   
Pearlette  Meade  1879-05-09  1887-01-26  Was also in Ford County for a time.  
Reinert  Ford  1908-03-25  1917-09-29   
Ricka  Ford  1885-08-27  1886-06-19   
Sidlow  Ford  1885-12-16  1886-06-19   
Skidmore  Meade  1884-07-23  1885-07-30  Moved to Meade Center. Established in Ford County.  
Snyder  Ford  1886-01-07  1899-04-29   
Spearville  Ford  1877-06-11  Open in 1961   
Sunshine  Ford  1885-12-23  1886-06-19   
Vesta  Clark  1885-07-10  1891-03-31  Established in Ford County.  
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page