Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Allen

Page 1 of 1 showing 41 records of 41 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Cofachiqui  Allen  1856-03-18  1859-10-25  Moved to Iola.  
Humboldt  Allen  1858-04-21  Open in 1961   
Peru  Allen  1858-08-05  1858-11-29  Moved to Xenia.  
Florence  Allen  1858-09-20  1859-01-07  Moved to Carlyle.  
Geneva  Allen  1858-11-13  1942-09-30   
Carlyle  Allen  1859-01-07  1988-11-05  Moved from Florence.  
Iola  Allen  1859-10-25  Open in 1961  Moved from Cofachiqui.  
Mantua   Allen  1859-11-19  1862-08-06  Also spelled Mantau and Mantan.  
Cold Spring  Allen  1861-01-10  1862-10-21   
Ozark  Anderson  1862-03-04  1885-11-09  Moved to Kincaid. Was also in Allen County for a time (site moved).  
Magnolia  Allen  1862-06-04  1863-07-27   
Elsinore  Allen  1866-11-22  1889-02-11  Name change to Elsmore.  
Jeddo  Allen  1868-02-07  1877-07-16   
Neosho  Allen  1871-04-05  1871-07-03   
Odense  Neosho  1872-04-12  1902-04-30  Established in Allen County.  
Maplewood  Allen  1872-04-25  1872-10-18   
Sheron  Allen  1873-06-20  1877-11-13   
Jonestown  Allen  1875-03-30  1879-02-05   
Orel  Allen  1875-04-08  1881-10-10  Moved to Morantown.  
Rocklow  Allen  1877-11-06  1884-12-10   
Savonburg  Allen  1879-05-21  Open in 1961  Also spelled Savonburgh.  
Fair Lawn  Allen  1879-06-04  1881-10-11   
Hamburgh  Allen  1879-09-16  1883-07-12  Established in Woodson County.  
Wannersburg  Allen  1880-12-28  1889-11-30  Also spelled Wannersburgh.  
Leanna  Allen  1881-02-28  1920-01-31   
Morantown  Allen  1881-10-10  1899-05-06  Moved from Orel. Name change to Moran.  
La Harpe  Allen  1881-11-02  Open in 1961   
Wise  Allen  1882-05-10  1902-06-14   
Hendricks  Allen  1882-06-14  1883-04-30   
Rocklow  Allen  1885-08-04  1886-03-04   
Front  Allen  1886-06-01  1887-08-08  Moved to Bayard.  
Bayard  Allen  1887-08-08  1943-04-30  Moved from Front.  
Elsmore  Allen  1889-02-11  Open in 1961  Name change from Elsinore.  
Wannersburg  Allen  1890-01-25  1891-07-15  Also spelled Wannersburgh.  
Griffin  Woodson  1890-11-14  1901-11-30  Established in Allen County.  
Funston  Allen  1892-05-06  1901-11-30   
Allendale  Allen  1898-03-10  1901-11-30   
Moran  Allen  1899-05-06  Open in 1961  Name change from Morantown.  
Gas  Allen  1899-08-25  Open in 1961   
Petrolia  Allen  1905-07-13  1953-09-30   
Mildred  Allen  1907-09-24  1973-10-12   

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page