Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Chautauqua

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 59 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Peru  Chautauqua  1870-07-27  Open in 1961  Established in Howard County.  
Cedar Vale  Chautauqua  1870-05-02  Open in 1961  Established in Howard County.  
Chautauqua  Chautauqua  1881-10-03  Open in 1961   
Sedan  Chautauqua  1874-06-23  Open in 1961  Established in Howard County.  
Niotaze  Chautauqua  1890-04-21  Open in 1961  Name change from Newport.  
Elgin  Chautauqua  1887-08-12  1976-07-30   
Hewins  Chautauqua  1887-04-06  1966-04-08  Moved from Hart's Mill.  
Wauneta  Chautauqua  1883-04-02  1961-01-31  Name change from Fulda.  
Lowe  Chautauqua  1875-12-13  1939-06-30   
Leeds  Chautauqua  1883-08-06  1927-01-31  Name change from Squib.  
Monett  Chautauqua  1887-12-09  1918-03-15  Moved from Mount Vernon.  
Spring Creek  Chautauqua  1879-03-04  1907-09-30   
Hale  Chautauqua  1882-05-18  1907-06-29   
Center  Chautauqua  1897-08-21  1907-02-28   
Colfax  Chautauqua  1873-12-24  1906-11-15   
Grafton  Chautauqua  1888-01-18  1906-10-31   
Farmersburg  Chautauqua  1897-12-02  1906-01-15   
Cloverdale  Chautauqua  1871-01-24  1905-04-15  Established in Howard County.  
Rogers  Chautauqua  1887-06-04  1905-03-31   
Moore  Chautauqua  1901-02-23  1904-04-30   
Jonesburg  Chautauqua  1892-06-08  1903-08-31  Name change from Jonesburgh.  
Brownsville  Chautauqua  1883-05-23  1903-04-30   
Farmersburg  Chautauqua  1896-03-24  1896-05-15  [Order of change rescinded]  
Farmersburg  Chautauqua  1872-04-25  1896-02-15  Also spelled Farmerburgh. Established in Howard County.  
Center  Chautauqua  1871-12-01  1894-10-31  Also spelled Centre. Established in Howard County.  
Bradley  Chautauqua  1891-02-10  1894-07-31   
Jonesburgh  Chautauqua  1877-11-21  1892-06-08  Name change to Jonesburg.  
Ozro  Chautauqua  1888-12-15  1892-03-31   
Newport  Chautauqua  1887-05-18  1890-04-21  Moved from Matanzas. Name change to Niotaze.  
New Elgin  Chautauqua  1887-07-21  1888-12-20  Name change from Elgin.  
Metz  Chautauqua  1874-08-12  1888-05-11  Established in Howard County.  
Mount Vernon  Chautauqua  1882-10-10  1887-12-09  Moved to Monett.  
Grafton  Chautauqua  1871-04-05  1887-10-01  Established in Howard County.  
Elgin  Chautauqua  1871-02-27  1887-07-21  Name change to New Elgin. Established in Howard County.  
Matanzas  Chautauqua  1871-09-01  1887-05-18  Name change from Jay Hawk. Moved to Newport. Established in Howard County.  
Hart's Mill  Chautauqua  1872-06-03  1887-04-06  Moved to Hewins. Established in Howard County.  
Cascade  Chautauqua  1882-06-26  1886-12-04   
Wilhite  Chautauqua  1884-05-20  1885-02-04   
Squib  Chautauqua  1883-05-14  1883-08-06  Name change to Leeds.  
Fulda  Chautauqua  1872-08-05  1883-04-02  Name change to Wauneta. Established in Howard County.  
Lisbon  Chautauqua  1872-04-29  1880-09-15  Established in Howard County.  
Minersview  Chautauqua  1879-06-13  1880-07-06   
Boston  Chautauqua  1871-08-28  1879-09-01  Moved to Moline. Established in Howard County.  
Mount Vernon  Chautauqua  1874-03-10  1879-08-25   
Belknap  Chautauqua  1872-08-28  1878-11-23  Established in Howard County.  
Belknap  Chautauqua  1877-12-10  1878-10-29   
Spring Creek  Chautauqua  1872-08-15  1878-10-08  Established in Howard County.  
Golden Gate  Chautauqua  1872-03-20  1876-07-03  Established in Howard County.  
Sycamore  Chautauqua  1871-06-06  1876-05-19  Established in Howard County.  
Lowe  Chautauqua  1872-01-05  1875-09-16   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page