Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Edwards

Page 1 of 1 showing 31 records of 31 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Centerview  Edwards  1917-02-20  1959-01-31   
Dewey  Edwards  1898-12-15  1899-04-17  [Order of change rescinded]  
El Paso  Edwards  1882-10-09  1885-11-02   
Fellsburg  Edwards  1880-08-02  1984-12-22   
Fitchburgh  Edwards  1877-08-20  1878-02-06  Name change to Nettleton.  
Garden Grove  Edwards  1879-07-28  1880-06-03   
King  Edwards  1903-04-23  1907-02-23  [Order of change rescinded]  
Kirkfield  Edwards  1881-02-24  1905-01-31   
Lewis  Edwards  1886-11-03  Open in 1961   
Nettleton  Edwards  1878-02-06  1882-03-13  Name change from Fitchburgh.  
Nettleton  Edwards  1903-07-18  1904-09-15   
Nettleton  Edwards  1912-10-26  1917-11-15   
Nida  Edwards  1903-03-12  1903-12-31   
Offerle  Edwards  1876-05-26  Open in 1961   
Prattburg  Edwards  1878-05-03  1903-12-31  Established in Pratt County. Was also in Stafford County for a time (site moved).  
Prattburg  Edwards  1904-09-19  1908-01-31   
Progress  Edwards  1903-04-17  1903-12-31   
Trousdale  Edwards  1916-03-22  1967-06-30   
Villotta  Edwards  1879-05-21  1880-01-15   
Wendell  Edwards  1885-01-13  1899-07-15   
Bannock  Edwards  1891-05-06  1908-01-31   
Belpre  Edwards  1879-07-07  Open in 1961   
Fellsburg  Edwards  1880-02-25  1880-06-07  Also spelled Fellsburgh.  
Kinsley  Edwards  1874-01-19  Open in 1961  Name change from Peters. Established in Kiowa County.  
Peters  Edwards  1873-04-23  1874-01-19  Name change to Kinsley. Established in Kiowa County.  
Corbitt  Ford  1885-03-09  1887-08-05  Moved to Bucklin. Was also in Edwards County for a time.  
Greensburgh  Kiowa  1885-01-27  1892-05-21  Name change from Janes. Name change to Greensburg. Established in Edwards County.  
Janes  Kiowa  1884-09-16  1885-01-27  Name change to Greensburgh. Established in Edwards County.  
Brenham  Kiowa  1884-08-07  1894-12-31  Established in Edwards County.  
Mullinville  Kiowa  1884-09-12  Open in 1961  Established in Edwards County.  
Dowell  Kiowa  1884-06-10  1886-09-23  Name change to Wellsford. Established in Edwards County.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page