Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Jefferson

Page 1 of 2 showing 50 records of 56 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Shields  Jefferson  1855-03-15  1868-03-30   
Ozawkie  Jefferson  1855-03-15  Open in 1961   
Grasshopper Falls  Jefferson  1855-12-21  1863-10-12  Name change to Sautrell Falls.  
Oskaloosa  Jefferson  1856-11-25  Open in 1961   
Middletown  Jefferson  1857-01-31  1860-03-24  Name change to Ole.  
Crooked Creek  Jefferson  1857-05-11  1863-10-15   
Mount Florence  Jefferson  1857-06-05  1873-12-19  Name change to Meriden.  
Winchester  Jefferson  1858-03-15  Open in 1961   
Kaw City  Jefferson  1858-04-30  1866-10-16   
Rising Sun  Jefferson  1858-11-11  1859-07-19   
Ole  Jefferson  1860-03-24  1865-03-22  Name change from Middletown.  
Rising Sun  Jefferson  1863-04-28  1866-02-16  Moved to Perryville.  
Sautrell Falls  Jefferson  1863-10-12  1864-05-14  Name change from Grasshopper Falls. Name change to Grasshopper Falls.  
Grasshopper Falls  Jefferson  1864-05-14  1875-04-26  Name change from Sautrell Falls. Name change to Valley Falls.  
Jefferson City  Jefferson  1864-12-01  1865-09-04   
Scott Land  Jefferson  1865-02-20  1871-11-27  Also spelled Scotland.  
Cooks Ford  Jefferson  1865-07-03  1872-12-19  Moved to Rock Creek.  
Jefferson  Douglas  1865-12-19  1872-12-31  Name change to North Lawrence. Established in Jefferson County.  
Perryville  Jefferson  1866-02-16  1866-04-16  Moved from Rising Sun. Name change to Medina.  
Clement  Jefferson  1866-04-11  1866-04-19  Name change to Williamstown.  
Medina  Jefferson  1866-04-16  1867-06-03  Name change from Perryville.  
Williamstown  Jefferson  1866-04-19  1871-12-26  Name change from Clement. Name change to Rural.  
Grantville  Jefferson  1866-10-03  Open in 1961   
Perry  Jefferson  1866-10-11  Open in 1961   
Medina  Jefferson  1867-07-19  1886-09-22   
Newman  Jefferson  1868-08-26  1969-05-30   
Chester  Jefferson  1868-12-28  1902-02-15   
Grove City  Jefferson  1869-06-17  1883-01-22   
Plum Creek  Jefferson  1869-06-22  1871-09-04   
Woodstock  Jefferson  1871-07-17  1873-04-11   
Rural  Jefferson  1871-12-26  1883-05-25  Name change from Williamstown. Name change to Williamstown.  
Prairie View  Jefferson  1872-01-12  1873-04-09   
Boyle  Jefferson  1872-10-21  1882-01-26   
Turners  Jefferson  1872-10-23  1873-04-16   
Rock Creek  Jefferson  1872-12-19  1874-06-15  Moved from Cooks Ford.  
Nortonville  Jefferson  1873-05-14  Open in 1961   
Meriden  Jefferson  1873-12-19  Open in 1961  Name change from Mount Florence.  
Woodstock  Jefferson  1874-06-23  1891-09-30   
Rock Creek  Jefferson  1874-07-06  1959-05-31   
Valley Falls  Jefferson  1875-04-26  Open in 1961  Name change from Grasshopper Falls.  
Thompsonville  Jefferson  1878-06-17  1901-05-31   
McLouth  Jefferson  1882-05-26  Open in 1961   
Oregon  Jefferson  1882-08-25  1883-09-04   
Jacksonville  Jefferson  1883-05-03  1887-02-03   
Williamstown  Jefferson  1883-05-25  1968-12-27  Name change from Rural.  
Boyle  Jefferson  1884-04-18  1945-02-28   
Oregon  Jefferson  1885-01-29  1885-08-14   
Medina  Jefferson  1887-12-20  1901-12-14   
Dunavant  Jefferson  1888-06-07  1932-09-30   
Sarcoxie  Jefferson  1889-09-11  1901-02-14   
1 | 2

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page