Jump to Navigation

Kansas Post Offices, 1828-1961

Results of Query:

Post Office: All post offices
County: Wallace

Page 1 of 1 showing 30 records of 30 total, starting on record 1

Post Office County Established Discontinued Notes
Weskan  Wallace  1887-08-12  Open in 1961   
Wallace  Wallace  1872-08-15  Open in 1961   
Vega  Wallace  1888-09-25  1907-08-31   
Stockholm  Wallace  1890-02-28  1915-11-15   
Sharon Springs  Wallace  1886-05-06  Open in 1961   
Sexton  Wallace  1906-06-09  1915-05-15   
Runyon  Wallace  1910-02-21  1911-12-30   
Runyon  Wallace  1907-04-30  1907-11-30   
Pond Creek  Wallace  1868-11-30  1870-04-11   
Phil Sheridan  Wallace  1868-09-25  1871-01-20   
Monument  Logan  1868-06-16  1868-09-25  Monument was first established in 1865, as a stage station in Gove Co., and later became a military post. The troops and post office were moved 35 miles northwest on June 24, 1868, to a site in Wallace (now Logan) Co., which had previously been called Antelope Station, where the post office continued to operate till Sept. 1868, as Monument. Was also in Wallace County for a time. Established in Gove County.  
Mell  Wallace  1888-09-25  1895-11-19  Name change to Ladder.  
Macon  Wallace  1889-02-11  1901-05-28  Name change to Dinas.  
Lister  Wallace  1891-05-23  1898-03-15   
Ladder  Wallace  1921-06-20  1924-01-31   
Ladder  Wallace  1904-09-23  1920-08-31   
Ladder  Wallace  1895-11-19  1896-08-15  Name change from Mell.  
Holmes  Wallace  1888-06-19  1890-06-30   
Hackberry Mills  Gove  1879-09-04  1881-12-23  Moved to Hackberry. Established in Wallace County.  
Groton  Logan  1878-10-07  1879-11-18  Name change from Gnoton. Established in Wallace County. Was also in St. John County for a time.  
Grinnell  Gove  1870-06-06  1871-10-04  Established in Wallace County.  
Goble  Wallace  1909-01-15  1914-11-30   
Gnoton  Logan  1878-08-16  1878-10-07  Name change to Groton. Established in Wallace County.  
Fort Wallace  Wallace  1866-10-03  1882-06-01   
Elizabeth  Wallace  1879-05-29  1881-09-09   
Dinas  Wallace  1901-05-28  1917-11-15  Name change from Macon.  
Dale  Wallace  1906-03-21  1914-06-30   
Cutler  Wallace  1906-08-11  1909-03-31   
Chance  Wallace  1904-04-29  1923-11-15   
Blaiseville  Logan  1879-05-09  1881-05-26  Name change to Gilmore. Was also in St. John County for a time. Established in Wallace County.  

The Kansas Post Offices Database contains information taken from Robert W. Baughman's Kansas Post Offices, May 29, 1828-August 3, 1961, published by the Kansas Postal History Society, an affiliate of the Kansas Historical Society. It includes every known Kansas post office with its dates of operation. These dates can indicate approximately when the town was established and in some cases, when it disappeared.

The name and boundaries of some Kansas counties were still changing up to 1893. If the county where the post office was located changed, or if the town changed its name, this is noted in the "notes" field and you will need to search on the earlier or later names for additional information. If a post office was originally in Kansas Territory but became part of the new Colorado Territory on Feb. 28, 1861, the information given here ends with that date.

The information in the database is current through 3 August 1961. Post office openings, closings, and name changes since that date are currently being researched for addition to the database.

KSHS volunteers Bill and Diana Sowers, Joan Stevenson, and Louis Reed transcribed the information for this database. Melvin Bruntzel researched post-1961 changes.

New Search of Kansas Post Offices
Kansas Place Names Index Main Page