Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Riley
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 4 of 5 showing 10 records of 47 total, starting on record 31
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

Riley County Fair's Floral Hall

Picture of property City Park, 1101 Fremont St.
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in State Register 2017-05-13

Architect: Unknown
Category: fair

Located at the northeastern corner of Manhattan’s City Park, the 1875 Floral Hall was the second such building on the county fairgrounds, replacing an earlier structure destroyed by a storm. The stone building served as an exhibition hall for the Riley County Fair from 1875 to 1887. After 1888 the county’s annual fairs were held at new fairgrounds outside of Manhattan. Although the building has been repurposed throughout the decades, Floral Hall is significant for its association with Kansas County Fair heritage; it is also the only extant fair structure in City Park.

Rocky Ford School

Picture of property 1969 Barnes Road
Manhattan vicinity (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 2012-01-20

Architect: Undetermined
Category: school
Thematic Nomination: Historic Public Schools of Kansas

Rocky Ford School is a one-room limestone schoolhouse near Manhattan in Riley County that was built in 1903 and rebuilt in 1927 after a fire. Various repairs and improvements were made to the property within its first two decades. An outhouse was built in 1904, a well was first excavated in 1909, but a new well was dug in 1933, and a merry-go-round was installed in 1929. These contributing elements remain associated with the property. The school building served first through eighth grade students in District 70 until consolidation with District 1 in 1938. Although consolidation had been a topic of discussion during District 70 board meetings as early as 1921, they chose to rebuild the school after a fire nearly destroyed it in 1927. Builder Fred Hulse used the original limestone during the reconstruction and improvements, such as electric lighting, were made. The building is nominated as part of the "Historic Public Schools of Kansas" multiple property nomination for its educational and architectural significance.

Runyon, Damon, House

Picture of property 400 Osage Street
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 2004-12-02

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Second Baptist Church

Picture of property 831 Yuma Street
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 2012-05-30

Architect: Winter, H. B.
Category: religious facility
Thematic Nomination: African American Resources in Manhattan, KS

The Second Baptist Church building is significant for its role in the development of the African American community in Manhattan. It was not only a center for religious worship, but served the greater community by hosting education, social and charitable activities. The original congregation was organized in 1880, a year after the influx of African American refugees arrived in Manhattan as part of the Great Exodus from former Southern slave states. As the congregation grew in size and prominence, its members built this substantial brick building in 1917, replacing the earlier small frame building. It is located on a prominent corner at the intersection of Ninth and Yuma, across from Douglass School and the black U.S.O. Building - both significant community organizations in the historic African American neighborhood.

Seven Dolors Catholic Church

Picture of property NE of the jct. Of Juliette and Pierre Streets
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 1995-09-01

Architect: Henry Brinkman
Category: religious facility

St. Mary's Hospital/ Manhattan YMCA/ Delta Sigma Phi

Picture of property 1100 Freemont St
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in State Register 2019-05-04

Architect: J.C. Holland & Frank C. Squires; A.K. Bader
Category: institutional housing

The Delta Sigma Phi Fraternity house is locally significant architecturally as an elegantly and functionally designed building that has accommodated three primary users over its lifespan. Originally built in the Classical Revival style with reception and dormitory rooms in its original east wing, its west wing housed a two-story gymnasium. This building configuration was revised to accommodate a hospital use in 1926, and a college fraternity use in 1955. In 1958, the gymnasium was removed and replaced with a modern-era wing that provided individual sleeping rooms on the second floor and a lounge and housemother’s quarters on the first floor. The adaptability of this finely built structure is a testimony to its robustness and resiliency.

Strasser House

Picture of property 326 Laramie Street
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 2010-07-06

Architect: unknown
Category: vacant/not in use; multiple dwelling; single dwelling
Thematic Nomination: Late 19th Century Vernacular Stone Houses in Manhattan, KS

As is typical of mid-19th century vernacular stone houses in Manhattan, the Strasser house was built in phases with the addition of a wing situated perpendicular to a pre-existing gable-front building. It was originally constructed in 1874 as a two-story gable-front limestone house for Phillipena J. Strasser, a German immigrant and widow. She sold the house in 1876 when she married Isom Tull and moved to his Zeandale farm. A subsequent owner added a two-story intersecting wing to the east side of the house in about 1885. In addition to its high level of masonry craftsmanship and vernacular architectural significance, it has important associations with the development patterns of Manhattan. In particular, it documents the development of the area north of downtown in the early 1870s as a residential area. The property was nominated as part of the "Nineteenth Century Vernacular Stone Houses of Manhattan" multiple property listing.

Strong, Henry and Elenora, House

Picture of property 1916 Beck Street
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in State Register 2009-11-07

Architect: Henry Strong
Category: single dwelling
Thematic Nomination: Late 19th Century Vernacular Stone Houses in Manhattan, KS

Henry and Elenora Strong were born in Bolton, Connecticut, and were active in the local Congregational Church. They married in 1859 and moved to the Kansas territory where Henry had previously worked hauling freight between Leavenworth and Denver. They became members of Manhattan's newly established First Congregational Church and were active in early efforts to establish a school for area children. Henry drafted and constructed the house in 1867, with his New England heritage evident in his craftsmanship. They built the two-story vernacular stone house on the outskirts of town in a style similar to the earlier Federal style found in New England. The original house is a simple two-story box with a side-gabled roof, a center entrance, and doors and windows organized in strict symmetry. It was built of limestone from his own quarry at the foot of nearby Bluemont Hill. The farmstead outbuildings are no longer extant, and the house features two 1950s additions. A mid-twentieth neighborhood has developed around the former farmstead. The property was nominated for its association with the early settlement of Manhattan and as an example of a mid-nineteenth century vernacular stone house.

The Avalon

Picture of property 417 Fremont St
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 2019-09-30

Architect: Unknown
Category: multiple dwelling

The Avalon apartment building is in Manhattan’s Ward 2 neighborhood north of downtown, Riley County, Kansas. It is eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places under Criterion C – Architecture. The building reflects its design and long-term function as an apartment building and conveys information about the Low-rise Walk-up Apartment Buildings built in Manhattan and cities across the state and nation, to address housing shortages in the period following WWI. The Avalon is an excellent example of the Prairie School style, common in residential neighborhoods 1900-1930. Created through the expansion of an existing ca. 1890s home, the Avalon was constructed ca. 1925 in a residential neighborhood consisting almost exclusively of single family homes. The new apartment building contained four apartments, one of which was occupied by the M.P. Robinson family who owned the apartment house until 1940.

Ulrich, Robert, House

Picture of property 121 North Eighth Street
Manhattan (Riley County)
Listed in National Register 1978-09-20

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5

New Search