Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Sedgwick
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 5 of 16 showing 10 records of 151 total, starting on record 41
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Ellis-Singleton Building

Picture of property 221 S Broadway
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register May 11, 2006

Architect: Schmidt, Boucher, and Overend
Area of Significance: commerce; business
Architectural Style(s): Other

The Ellis-Singleton building, an eight-story brick office building constructed in 1929, is nominated for its significance in the area of Architecture as an Art Deco style office building. The building was designed by the architect firm Schmidt, Boucher, and Overend. It was the first in Wichita with a connected ramp garage, appealing to "business and professional men who like the idea of having their cars where they may step directly from their office floor."

Engine House No. 6

Picture of property 1300 South Broadway
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Feb 2, 1995

Architect: J.C. Wolters
Area of Significance: fire station
Architectural Style(s): Tudor Revival

Engine House No. 6 was nominated for its association with local government firefighting at the turn of the century. Built in 1909, No. 6 was the last horse drawn fire station in the city. When No. 6 switched from horses to gasoline powered engines "Wichita became the first completely motorized fire department in the United States, and the second in the world." The design of Engine House No. 6 is also notable with Tudor Revival characteristics. Its brick concrete structure and arched windows are unique features not found on contemporary fire stations in the area.

E.S. Cowie Electric Co. Buildings

Picture of property 222-232 S. Topeka Ave.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jul 12, 2019

Architect: Unknown
Area of Significance: commerce
Architectural Style(s): Commercial

The E.S. Cowie Electric Company was established in 1900 in Kansas City, Missouri, and expanded to Wichita in 1916. The Wichita store moved three times in the first fifteen years of business before settling in the 200 block of S. Topeka in 1931. By the time it moved to the S. Topeka location the company was firmly established as one of the largest automotive electric suppliers in the Midwest and Southwest. These buildings are significant for their reflection of the pioneering and enduring role in the automotive industry in Wichita and surrounding states. The Cowie firm was known for its business acumen and fidelity to servicing customer needs with a well-trained expert team. The company created life-long relationships with manufacturers and customers. When the founder E.S. Cowie died in 1951, his hand-picked protégé, Lee Thorn, who had managed the Wichita store for 25 years, became president of the company and the headquarters moved to Wichita. Cowie Electric Company transferred to the Thorn family in 1959, ending the Cowie family’s ownership of the business.

Fairmount Apartments

Picture of property 1702 N. Fairmount Avenue
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Dec 30, 2009

Architect: J. I. Graham, builder
Area of Significance: multiple dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Mission/Spanish Colonial Revival; Late 19th and 20th Century Revivals
Thematic Nomination: Residential Resources of Wichita, Sedgwick County, KS, 1870-1957

Constructed in 1930, the Fairmount Apartment building was designed to provide multi-family housing in the Fairmount neighborhood immediately south of Wichita State University. A trolley line connected the university neighborhood to the rest of the city. Population growth during the booming 1920s triggered an increase in multi-family apartment construction in Wichita. By 1927, there were 91 apartment buildings listed in the Wichita City Directory, a number that increased nearly three-fold by 1947. Wichita contractor John I. Graham, who is known to have built three Wichita apartment buildings between 1928 and 1930, applied for a building permit to construct this building for an estimated cost of $35,000. This conventional, low-rise apartment building exhibits the characteristics of the popular early twentiethcentury Spanish Colonial Revival style. The building was nominated as part of the "Residential Resources of Wichita, 1870-1957" multiple property listing for its architecture.

Fairmount Congregational Church

Picture of property 1650 N Fairmont
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Nov 1, 2006

Architect: William R. Stringfield
Area of Significance: religious facility
Architectural Style(s): Romanesque; Late Victorian

Built in 1910, the Fairmont Congregational Church is a two-story, Akron-plan, brick veneer church designed in a vernacular interpretation of the Richardsonian Romanesque style by Wichita architect William R. Stringfield. The church is nominated for its application of the Richardsonian Romanesque style to religious structures. It is also nominated in the area of communication for its association with Reverend Clayton B. Wells, who was the first to broadcast religious sermons in the Wichita area in the 1920s.

Fairmount Cottage

Picture of property 1717 Fairmount Avenue
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Sep 5, 1985

Architect: W.T. Proudfoot & G.W. Bird
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Queen Anne

Built in 1888, this two-and-one-half story Queen Anne home was designed by Willis T. Proudfoot and George W. Bird. Proudfoot and Bird were two of the most highly regarded architects in Kansas during the 1880s and 1890s. Wichita lumberman A.S. Parks first occupied the house from 1888 to 1892. The home's primary Queen Anne features include the irregular floor plan, wood shingle siding, decorative gables, varying sizes of windows, and a full-width porch supported by wood columns. It was nominated as a good local example of Queen Anne architecture.

Fairview Apartments

Picture of property 206 E. 18th Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Dec 30, 2009

Architect: unknown
Area of Significance: multiple dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Commercial; Late 19th and Early 20th Century American Movements
Thematic Nomination: Residential Resources of Wichita, Sedgwick County, KS, 1870-1957

Built in 1924, the Fairview Apartment building is located a few blocks south of Wichita's North End commercial and industrial district. Through the start of World War I, industrial development in the North End spurred residential and commercial growth. A dramatic rise in population during the booming 1920s, coupled with a desire for safe, sanitary housing and a shortage of building materials and skilled labor, triggered an increase in multi-family apartment construction in Wichita. This conventional low-rise apartment building has sixteen residential units on each of the first and second floors. The design of the Fairview Apartments reflects popular architectural trends in multi-family housing seen in Wichita and nationwide during this period. Apartment buildings typically had brick veneer walls with limestone or cast stone trim applied to fireproof, concrete or even steel structures. This building has a U-shaped plan and features buff brick walls with patterned brickwork at the cornice and a flat roof with a shaped parapet. The bracketed door hoods with exposed rafter tails and multi-light upper window sashes express vernacular elements of Craftsman architecture applied to a multi-family building. The building was nominated as part of the "Residential Resources of Wichita, 1870-1957" multiple property listing for its architecture.

Farmer, J. E., House

Picture of property 1301 Cleveland
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jun 28, 2011

Architect: F. H. Garrett, builder; G. W. Ewing, mason
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Tudor Revival
Thematic Nomination: African American Resources in Wichita, KS

Frank Garrett and stonemason George Ewing built the house at 1301 Cleveland in 1942 for Dr. James E. Farmer and his wife Gertrude, who were both prominent African American professionals in Wichita. It is located in the McAdams neighborhood, and, like the McClinton Market, is representative of population changes during the first half of the twentieth century, when the area changed from primarily white residents to over ninety percent African Americans by the end of World War II. The house is an excellent example of a folk interpretation of the Tudor Revival style. It embodies the distinct characteristics of the style while also reflecting the personality and craftsmanship of the African American builder and mason. Not only did this property serve as the Farmers' residence, but it played host to prominent visiting African Americans, such as singer Marian Anderson and boxer Joe Lewis, until segregation in public accommodations was outlawed in Kansas in 1963. The property was nominated as part of the "African American Resources of Wichita" multiple property submission for its local significance in the areas of African American heritage and architecture.

Farmer's and Banker's Historic District

Picture of property 1st & Market Sts
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Oct 10, 2007

Architect: Keene&Simpson; Ed Forsblom; Smith, Boucher&Overend
Area of Significance: meeting hall; business
Architectural Style(s): Commercial

The Farmer's and Banker's Historic District is located on the northeast corner of First and Market Streets in Wichita. In April 1909, Wichita Club members approved a design by the Kansas City architectural firm of Keene and Simpson. The two-building district, consisting of the former Wichita Club and Elks Club buildings constructed in 1911 and 1925 respectively, forms a solid block. The buildings complement each other in materials and their Commercial-style design. They are both five stories tall, have flat roofs, and display tripartite façades faced with red brick and classical ornamentation. The buildings were nominated for their architectural significance.

Fourth National Bank Building

Picture of property 100-110 N. Market Street
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register May 1, 2013

Architect: Thomas, Harris, Calvin Associates
Area of Significance: financial institution
Architectural Style(s): Modern Movement

The Fourth National Bank Building is located in the central business district of Wichita. The building served as the bank's headquarters from 1916 until 1971, when the bank moved to a new building. It was constructed as a six-story building in 1916, and a seventh story was added in 1923 along with a seven-story addition to the east. In 1958 a seven-story rear addition was constructed to the north and the building's exterior was completely redesigned to reflect the Modern style. A local architectural firm, Thomas, Harris, Calvin Associates, oversaw the mid-century design changes, which carried through to the interior. Exterior changes included the installation of vertical panels in pink marble and deep red granite with elongated aluminum-framed windows and aluminum fluted spandrels. These renovations took place during a period of rapid growth and change within Fourth National Bank when its management was restructured to increase efficiency, computing machines were introduced to streamline accounting and bookkeeping, and new departments were created. Thus, the building was entirely remodeled to create an efficient environment. It was nominated for its local significance in the areas of commerce and architecture.

1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

New Search