Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Sedgwick
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 9 of 16 showing 10 records of 151 total, starting on record 81
5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Luling's City Laundry

Picture of property 1730-1746 E. Douglas
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Feb 3, 2012

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: manufacturing facility
Architectural Style(s): Commercial

Likely enticed by his older brother and Wichita pioneer businessman Charles Luling, a young Julius Luling arrived in Wichita during the height of the 1880s real estate boom. Julius began his laundry business career at the Wichita Steam Laundry, the city’s first professional laundry operation. He remained there until 1910 when he began operating his own laundries. In 1924, Julius followed the lead of many other prominent businessmen and industrialists and hired well-known Wichita contractor George Siedhoff to construct a new laundry building. When it opened, the Luling Laundry employed 60 people, most of them women. The arduous laundry process consumed 50,000 gallons of near-boiling water each day, and began with a rinse, then an hour-long wash, and then dried with "centrifugal water extractors" whirling at "a rate of a thousand revolutions a minute." Starched clothes were hung and passed through a steam chamber. Although Julius died unexpectedly in 1929, his laundry business thrived and expanded in the 1930s. The building is nominated for its association with the steam laundry industry in Wichita and for its Commercial-style architecture.

Mack (John) Bridge

Picture of property South Broadway across the Big Arkansas River
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jan 22, 1992

Architect: James Marsh, Edward Tomlinson
Area of Significance: road-related
Architectural Style(s): Bridge
Thematic Nomination: Rainbow Arch Bridges of Kansas

Spanning the Big Arkansas River along South Broadway in Wichita, the John Mack Bridge is the largest Marsh Arch Bridge in Kansas. The Marsh Engineering Company of Des Moines, Iowa designed the eight span bridge in 1929. Work on the bridge began on January 30, 1930. On July 22, 1931, the bridge was dedicated in the name of John C. Mack, a newspaper publisher, senator, and member of the Kansas State Highway Commission. The dedication ceremony was attended by thousands of people who danced to the music of the Bob & Laura Collins Orchestra on the brand new bridge. It was nominated for its association with the growth of Wichita and for its engineering.

Market Street Cottage

Picture of property 1144 N Market St
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Apr 18, 2007

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Queen Anne; Late Victorian

Constructed in 1888, the Market Street Cottage is a one-and-a-half story, irregular-plan, wood-frame, Queen Anne style residence. The house features a gable-on-hip roof with projecting gables, two corbelled brick chimneys and a pedimented porch with a denticulated cornice supported by turned posts and a jig-sawn balustrade. It is nominated for its representation of the typical 19th century housing pattern book and how it was applied to middle/working class homes of the era.

McCormick-Armstrong Press Building

Picture of property 1501 East Douglas Ave.
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Oct 2, 2020

Architect: Lorentz Schmidt & Co.
Area of Significance: communications facility
Architectural Style(s): Mission/Spanish Revival; Late 19th and 20th Century Revivals

The McCormick-Armstrong Press Company Building is locally significant under Criterion A in the area of Industry for its association with Wichita-based McCormick-Armstrong Press Company (McACO). McACO was one of the largest printing and binding companies in the city from its founding in 1912 until 2019 when EP Graphics acquired it. The company consistently competed with the largest printers in the city and state; by 1960, their net sales equaled $6.24 million, the highest in the company’s history, and they were one of four printers in the state employing over one hundred people. Beginning in 1923, McACO operated from the building at 1501 East Douglas Avenue. The ground floor housed offices, warehouse space, composing room, with the printing plant occupying most of the floor; the second floor housed the art and photostatting departments. As the company grew, the building expanded to be able to house new equipment and employees that broadened McACO’s offerings. The first addition occurred in 1946 followed by one in 1952. McACO also purchased additional buildings around the city out of which to operate. When acquired in 2019, McACO was operating out of four buildings and retained the building on East Douglas Avenue as its administrative headquarters and main production center. Due to the importance of the McCormick-Armstrong Press Company, the building’s period of significance begins in 1923 with its opening and extends to 1970, the fifty-year closing date for periods of significance where activities begun historically continue to have importance but no more specific date can be determined.

McCormick School

Picture of property 855 South Martinson
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Aug 30, 1978

Architect: W.T. Proudfoot & G.W. Bird
Area of Significance: school
Architectural Style(s): Romanesque

Built in 1890, McCormick School is the oldest extant public school in Wichita, and the last remaining public school designed by the prominent Wichita architectural firm of Proudfoot and Bird. The Richardsonian Romanesque two-and-one-half story building features a truncated hip roof and is constructed of brick with a limestone veneer. The front entrance is notable for its twin two-story polygonal towers linked by an archway. It was nominated for its architecture and its association with local educational history.

McLean, Elizabeth, Residence

Picture of property 2359 N McLean Boulevard
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jun 19, 2009

Architect: Benedick, Glenn E.
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Modern Movement
Thematic Nomination: Residential Resources of Wichita, Sedgwick County, KS, 1870-1957

Built in 1956, the Elizabeth McLean Residence is situated on 1.3 acres in the Benjamin Hills Estates, which had been the 138 acres farm purchased by Benjamin F. McLean in 1908. In 1953, the city of Wichita incorporated part of the original McLean farmstead into the city limit. Benjamin's daughter-in-law Elizabeth served as executor of the 138 acres and elected to plat the area and sell the lots for development. Elizabeth commissioned architect Glenn E. Benedick to design her split-level Ranch house. She worked closely with Benedick to add her personal touches to the final design of the property including the choice of exterior and interior materials and the fleur-de-lis sunken garden. The home's exterior is faced with Etowah pink marble quarried from the Georgia Marble Company in Tate, Georgia. The property is nominated for its significance as an architect-designed 1950s split-level Ranch house.

Mentholatum Company Building

Picture of property 1300 E Douglas
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jul 11, 2006

Architect: Ulysses Grant Charles
Area of Significance: commerce
Architectural Style(s): Mission/Spanish Revival

The Mentholatum Company Building is a one-story Mission/Spanish Colonial Revival building, constructed of reinforced concrete. The building's exterior is rendered in stucco and originally was painted white with mint green trim, the colors of the Mentholatum products. It is nominated for its association with A. A. Hyde, who founded the internationally known company. It is also significant for its association with the prominent Wichita architect, U. G. Charles and built by the Wurster Construction Company in 1908.

Mohr Barn

Picture of property 14920 W 21st Street North
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Dec 20, 2006

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: animal facility
Architectural Style(s): Other

Erected in 1913 by Joseph Wapelhorst, the Mohr Barn is a two-and-one-half story, balloon-frame barn. The interior of the barn is a variation of the Midwest Three Portal barn floor plan as described by Allen G. Noble and Richard K. Cleek. Its most unusual feature is a spiral staircase. The barn is nominated in the area of history for its association with the farming practices of the German immigrants who settled in Sedgwick County and as an architectural example of a board-and-batten, balloon-frame, gambrel-roof barn.

Monroe-Mahan House

Picture of property 1357 South Broadway
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jun 7, 1996

Architect: Unknown
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Queen Anne

The Monroe-Mahan House was nominated for it association with Wichita leaders Reverend James Monroe, John Mahan, and Silas Dague, and as the last remaining Queen Anne home from the once residential, now commercial, area of South Broadway in Wichita. Monroe built the home in 1887 while he was minister at South Lawrence Christian Church, the forerunner of the current Broadway Christian Church. Mahan purchased the home in 1897. Mahan owned the saloon inside the Carey Hotel that temperance movement leader Carrie A. Nation vandalized on December 26, 1900. Mahan and his brother signed the complaint that put Nation in jail. Mahan and Nation would go on to clash on two more occasions. Arthur Pauline, a commission broker and owner of the Pauline Commission Company, bought the house in 1902. After Pauline's death, his widow married Silas R. Dague who moved into the residence. Dague was the owner of the Dague Business University and an inventor.

Mullen Court Apartments

Picture of property 1140-1150 N. Topeka Avenue
Wichita (Sedgwick County)
Listed in National Register Jan 17, 2007

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: multiple dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Modern Movement

J.B. Muller and J.C. Lamb erected the Mullen Court Apartments, located near downtown Wichita, for apartment developer/manager Mrs. Eva Mercer Gilham in 1949. The building was built in response to the post-war housing shortage in Wichita and offered residents studio and one-bedroom options. The Mullen Court Apartments were substantial in comparison to many of the other apartments constructed within the Topeka-Emporia Blocks, which had mostly single dwelling houses at the time of construction. The building was nominated for its architecture as an example of Moderne design with its simple brickwork and its interior integrity that includes multi-light French Doors.

5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

New Search