Jump to Navigation

Heritage Trust Fund

The Heritage Trust Fund (HTF) is a state program that provides matching funds for the preservation of properties listed in the National Register of Historic Places or the Register of Historic Kansas Places. The HTF reimburses expenses for projects that preserve or restore historic properties. Qualifying expenses include professional fees and construction costs. Properties owned by the state or federal governments are not eligible, but those owned by local governments, private individuals, non-profit, and for-profit entities qualify. Individual grant awards may not exceed $100,000 and must be matched by the grant recipient. Yearly grant rounds are highly competitive.

Informational HTF grant workshops are held each year to provide applicants with step-by-step instruction on filling out the HTF grant application. See the HTF Workshops page for more information.

Other preservation-related workshops are often available too.

2023 Heritage Trust Fund grant round

Applications for the 2023 grant round are due November 1, 2022, and awards will be announced at the February 2023 Kansas Historic Sites Board of Review meeting.

Application can be found at the link below and will be available at the end of August 2022. Please read the Heritage Trust Fund Program Information before completing this application. Please attach the signed Assurances to your application found here.


2022 Heritage Trust Fund grant round

Applications for the 2022 grant round were due November 1, 2021, and awards were announced February 26, 2022. These 17 awards total $1,237,321 in proposed grant funding. The following is the list of grant applications approved for funding, pending availability of funds:

2022 Heritage Trust Fund Grants
County Project Grant Amount
Butler C. N. James Cabin $31,552
Dickinson Prospect Park Farm $90,000
Douglas Douglas County Courthouse $90,000
Douglas Cohn-Gardner Hill Department Store $63,000
Geary Junction City High School (Old) $39,062
Greenwood Eureka's Memorial Hall $90,000
Jewell First National Bank of Mankato $12,990
Kingman Kingman City Building $87,293
Leavenworth 519 Marshall Street $90,000
Marion The Sunflower Theatre $85,656
Marshall Historic Frankfort School $81,990
Pottawatomie German Evangelical Church $46,320
Rooks Rooks County Courthouse $81,746
Sedgwick The Sternberg Mansion $85,800
Seward Rock Island Depot - Grier House $90,000
Stafford Nora E. Larabee Memorial Library $90,000
Wabaunsee Farmers Union Coop $81,912

The Kansas Historical Society does not discriminate on the basis of race creed, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability in admission to, access to, or operations of its programs, services or activities.